Losing someone you care about or the loss of something that is part of your life is a painful experience. People experience all kinds of emotions when dealing with loss. There is no right way to express Grief. From moment to moment or day to day, different emotions such as deep sadness, depression, anxiety, crying, numbness or even laughter can all be part of the process. Grief is a natural response to loss and a feeling that something important has been taken away.

Grief can last for days, weeks, months or even years. Grieving is a process that can take time to overcome and usually comes and goes in moments of time. Everyone grieves differently and how you do so depends on factors such as personality, coping skills, support systems and faith.

  • Individual Counseling
  • Psychotherapy
  • Cognitive Behavioral Therapy
  • Emotional Freedom Techniques
  • Holistic Counseling
  • Life Coaching

People normally find it helpful to have someone to talk with and process the grief, especially after family and friends have returned home after the immediate aftermath of the loss. Dunham Counseling has several therapists that specialize in dealing with Grief.

Healing takes times and processing it usually helps. Ignoring the grief or “being strong” doesn’t help. Individual Counseling, Psychotherapy, Cognitive Behavioral Therapy and Family Counseling can help.

There are five stages of grief that everyone must go through to heal. There is no timetable for these stages. But we all experience them in grief.

  • Denial: “This didn’t happen.”
  • Anger: “Why did this happen to me?”
  • Bargaining: “Maybe this can be changed.”
  • Depression: “I feel down, depressed, sad.”
  • Acceptance: “I understand what happened and can be at peace with it.”

To get help with grief call Dunham Counseling and one of our therapists will help you work through this difficult time.

Someone to support you is the best thing you can do to help yourself. Call 630-799-0100.